Memon Super League Qualifier Recap | 2019-11-08 16:38:00

Memon Super League Qualifier Recap


The final round of qualifiers of the Memon Super League season 4 took place last week with teams fighting it out for a spot in the final.

TNP Titans batted first against Suleman Textile Stallions with Talha Ahmedani's 36 and cameos of 22 and 26 by Talha Faheem and Owais Pasta helping their side reach a modest 137 for 8 in 20 overs. Suleman's bowlers did well to keep things tight with Taha Arsalan being the pick of the bowlers with his 3 wickets.  In response, Stallions opener Shahid Mirani was in fine form, knocking a very valuable 81 off 42 which included 6 fours and 7 sixes. Nauman Ampara also chipped in with 20 off 21 as Stallions chased down the target in 15.3 overs. Suleman Textile Stallions won by 6 wickets.

The 2nd qualifier took place between Wintex Strikers and TNP Titans. Titans batted first with Ram Ravi turning up for his side. The Number 3 batsmen scored 81 off 48 and remained not out to help his side reach a mammoth 197 for 5 in 20 overs. Fareed Shah also chipped in with a handy 32 off 15 lower down the order. Wintex bowler Sameer Ahmedani tried to help contain the opposition, picking up 3 wickets in his spell, while Adnan Ghazi picked up a couple.  In response, Wintex batsmen Ahmed Hussain and Ali Iqbal made quick work of the chase, scoring 64 and 86 to help their side chase down the target in 17.3 overs. Titans bowlers were relatively ineffective. Wintex Strikers won by 6 wickets.

The Eliminator took place between Wintex Strikers and Rims Lions. Openers Afnan Karim and Haider Bangash set a comfortable foundation with scores of 24 and 30 respectively but it was Waseem Ali whose 43 off 38 helped Lions post a decent total of 150 for 8 in 20 overs. Wintex bowlers kept the pressure on throughout with Sameer Ahmedani and Idrees Amin picking up a combined 5 wickets. In response, an all round strong performance by Wintex Strikers helped their side to an easy victory with Suleman Saleem's 44 and Zeeshan Haider's 40 booking their place in the final in 19 overs. Wintex strikers won by 6 wickets.

The final will be played on 8th November between Wintex Strikers and Suleman Textile Stallions.